Horsted School

EYFS Curriculum


Early Years Foundation Stage

 Early years at Horsted is a fun, exciting place to be. Children learn through planned play activities and staff decide when child-initiated play or adult-led activities will provide the most effective learning opportunities.


Learning and development is split into three prime areas of learning:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development


And four specific areas of learning:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design


Achievement of these prime and specific areas of learning is by:

  • Playing and exploring
  • Active learning

. Creating and thinking critically

At Horsted we believe that play, both indoors and outdoors, is vital for young children’s’ learning as it provides valuable and stimulating opportunities which help children to explore, investigate and, make sense of the world around them.

Horsted Early Years provision is also based upon four key principles:


A unique child

Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive relationships

Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships;

Enabling environments

Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers.

Learning and Development

Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates. These principles cover the education and care of all children in our EYFS provision, including children with special educational needs, EAL and disabilities.