Skip to content ↓


The Horsted Federation Governing Body 


The Governors

Stephen Roe – Chair of Governors

David Coates – Local Authority Governor

Paul Harrison – Co-opted Governor

Louise Martin – Co-opted Governor

James Packman – Co-opted Governor

Sarah Steer – Co-opted Governor

Hinna Saeed – Parent Governor

Zoe Spearink – Parent Governor

Cheryl Francis – Staff Governor

Steve Geary – Head Teacher

Our Role

Our Governing Body meet every term. Governors are ordinary people who have an interest in the education of children and are prepared to volunteer to work alongside Headteacher and school staff to improve standards and learning experience for all the children at Horsted.

Day to day management of the school is delegated to the Headteacher who, with colleagues, keeps governors fully informed about all aspects of the school.

Horsted Infant School and Horsted Junior School are maintained schools under Medway Local Authority. They are located on the same site and some time ago it was decided to combine the two separate governing bodies. The Federation governing body was reconstituted in line with statutory guidance on 1st September 2015 and aims at ensuring school governance is strategically focused and accountable.

The constitution provides for 12 Governors made up of 2 parent governors, 1 local authority governor, the Headteacher and 1 other staff governor and 7 co-opted governors. All governors are required to register any business interests they may have to avoid any conflict of interests that may arise in meetings. Some details of members are below.

All governors are volunteers and terms of appointment are normally for 4 years. Vacancies may arise at any time and efforts are made to fill posts with people who have appropriate skills or experience to offer the school. Currently, there are 2 associated members who are not governors as such, because they are staff members and there are no vacancies there, and they provide valuable input to discussions.

Committees and other bodies

The governing body has formed two committees to help the process. These are the Finance & Buildings Committee and the Curriculum & Assessment and Personnel Committee. Experience had shown it was convenient to combine buildings with finance as much of that area entails expenditure. Similarly, personnel could easily be covered during meetings when the school curriculum was discussed. Other panels or working groups are formed when required, for example panels to deal with staff pay or appeals.          

Officers and functions

 Chair of the Governing Body - Stephen Roe – (Appointed July 2020)

Vice-Chair – To be appointed in September

The full governing body has responsibility for various aspects of the running of the school. It takes a strategic overview while leaving the day to day management to the Headteacher and his senior leadership team.

Chair of the Finance & Buildings Committee – Stephen Roe (New chair to appointed in September)

The Committee has initial oversight of the budget drawn up by the school; agrees priorities for revenues and capital funding; ensures the school maintains internal financial controls; initial oversight of school premises and grounds; receives proposals for capital projects and ensures best practice in procurement and implementation of works; takes a lead responsibility for health and safety and mandatory requirements.  


Chair of the Curriculum & Assessment and Personnel Committee – Stephen Roe (New chair to be appointed in September)             

The committee ensures the school offers a broad and balanced curriculum in accordance with the National Curriculum; receives performance data and timely reports of pupils' achievements and progress; provides strategic advice and guidance on personnel matters.


Meet the Governors

Stephen Roe

I have been a school governor in primary and secondary education for twenty or so years.  I have also been involved with schools through my wife being a primary school teacher, my four children all going through primary, secondary and further education, and my daughter being a secondary school teacher and now assistant HT.  As a local Baptist minister I have often spoken in school assemblies and lessons about the Christian faith.  Our Church runs many activities for children and young people in the local area.  I became involved with Horsted Schools to extend my involvement in the Medway community, and to help support and guide the excellent work of the whole staff team at Horsted.


Paul Harrison

I moved into the Davis estate in 2010, my wife has lived here her whole life (and even attended Horsted School).  When our daughter began attending Horsted, I wanted to get more engaged.  An opportunity appeared in 2019, and I have been part of the Governing body since then.  

In my career I have had many IT roles, and currently work in BT as a Cybersecurity Delivery expert, specialising in offering and supplying solutions that keep some top companies in the world safe from cyberattacks.  In my role at BT, I have been able to volunteer in many ways to support local schools, and help them in numerous ways including job preparation, interview techniques and their IT journey.  My desire to give back, and focus on helping younger children came when we had our daughter and I learned that only 27% of people in STEM are female, girls are far less likely to want to take part in STEM based classes in schools, this really made me feel I needed to do more.  So, when the opportunity arose to volunteer as the ICT Governor I jumped at the chance.

Appointing Governors

Parent governors are elected by parents of children in the school.

Staff governors are elected by all teachers and support staff. The governing body may appoint someone should there be no nominations. The Headteacher has an automatic place on the governing body but may choose not to take it up, in which case that position remains vacant.

Local authority governor  - appointed by Medway LA

Co-opted governors - appointed by the governing body. Co-opted governors are usually made up of local people who have an interest in the local community. They can be chosen to reflect the diversity in the school and the local community. 

Associate Members - The Federation Governing Body has appointed two staff members to the committees whose combined experience and knowledge is invaluable to its work. They are not counted as governors and do not vote in meetings of the full governing body.

Governors with interests in other educational establishments

Mrs Beal - employed at Wayfield Primary School

Register of Business Interests

All governors have declared whether or not they have business interests. Currently the register includes:







Horsted Federation






First Appointed

Term Start

Term End


Local Authority Governors





David Coates

14 May 2020

14 May 2020

13 May 2024


Co-opted governors





Paul Harrison

14 May 2020

14 May 2020

13 May 2024


Mrs Louise Martin

10 Oct 2019

10 Oct 2019

09 Oct 2023


James Packman

10 Oct 2019

10 Oct 2019

09 Oct 2023


Rev Stephen Roe

14 May 2020

14 May 2020

13 May 2024


Mrs Sarah Steer        

17 May 2016

14 May 2020

13 May 2024







Steve Geary





Parent governors





Mrs Hinna Saeed

08 May 2018

08 May 2018

07 May 2022


Miss Zoe Spearink

01 Sep 2018

25 Sep 2018

25 Sep 2022


Staff governors





Miss Cheryl Francis


12 May 2018

11 May 2022